Indian Remake

Today I made an Indian dinner. I like spicy food :-) I like spices. I try to not use too much salt. I only have a select amount of spices that I carry around and occasionally I buy fresh. This meal was created because 1. I purchased a tandoori spice mix and 2. I had leftover rice that was left sit in extra water creating a “sticky” rice. Therefore i made Tandoori chicken, Chickpeas/Hummus, Peppers and Onions, and Mango Sticky rice for dessert.,

I coated the chicken in the spices mixed with yogurt and a little olive oil. For a side dish, I didn’t want to make rice since we were having that for dessert an since we were eating leftovers with rice. So what I ended up finding was a chickpea side dish recipe. It was satisfying meal!

Chickpea and Pepper and Onion Salad

  • 2 cans chick peas, drained
  • 1/2 cup chicken stock
  • 1/4 cup tahini paste
  • 1 small red onion, very thinly sliced or 1/2-inch dice
  • 1 yellow bell pepper, seeded and thinly sliced or 1/2-inch dice
  • Hot banana pepper rings, drained and chopped plus 2 tablespoons juice
  • Handful fresh cilantro leaves, chopped
  • 1 lime, juiced, plus 1 lime, for garnish

Heat 1 tablespoon oil in a medium skillet over medium heat. Add 1 clove grated garlic. Pulse chop the chick peas in food processor then add to garlic oil and season with salt and pepper. Mash with chicken stock and tahini and reduce heat to low.

Combine red onion, bell peppers, chopped hot peppers, to taste, 2 tablespoons hot pepper pickle juice, cilantro leaves, lime juice. Drizzle with extra-virgin olive oil and season with salt and pepper. Wedge the remaining lime, reserve.

Mango stiky Rice!

Leave a comment